COVID-19: How Your Support Helps Women and Girls During the Pandemic
woman sitting by the ocean

The Landsberg Award 2021

The 2021 Landsberg Award application process is open.
Deadline: Feb. 19, 2021, 11:59 p.m. ET

The Landsberg Award is presented by the Canadian Journalism Foundation annually, in association with the Canadian Women’s Foundation. It celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about women’s equality issues in Canada and aims to inspire an increase in the media coverage and voice of women in Canada.

The award is named after Michele Landsberg — award-winning Canadian journalist, author, social activist, and feminist — to acknowledge the tremendous impact that she has had as an advocate and role model for all women in Canada. We hope the award will inspire relentless, fearless journalists to consider Canadian news from a women’s equality perspective.

Learn more about The Landsberg Award.

2020 Award
Columnist and feature writer Elizabeth Renzetti won for her writing in the Globe & Mail on various gender-related topics:
Violent misogyny is a threat to half our population. We need to all it what it is: Terrorism
Why has Canada had so few female first ministers?
Even in space, women can’t escape the flaws of biased design

Journalist Elizabeth Renzetti

2019 Award

Journalist Connie Walker received the 2019 Landsberg Award for CBC News: Missing & Murdered: Finding Cleo.