Journalism with a gender lens is critical to advancing equality – so it must be celebrated!

Each year, The Landsberg Award recognizes a journalist who raises awareness about gender justice issues in Canada. The prize is proudly presented by The Canadian Journalism Foundation in association with the Canadian Women’s Foundation. The application process is now open, with a deadline of January 20, 2023.

Previous Landsberg winners include Christina Frangou (2022), Alyshah Hasham and Wendy Gillis (2021), Elizabeth Renzetti (2020), and Connie Walker (2019) and more. The award is named after Michele Landsberg — award-winning Canadian journalist, author, social activist, and feminist — to acknowledge her tremendous impact as an advocate and role model for all women in Canada. We hope the award will inspire relentless, fearless journalists to consider Canadian news from a women’s equality perspective.

Learn more and apply